The Scentsy

My last 2 posts have been about boring, technical terms (no offense, Dr. Cramer!)  I thought it was time to spice it up again with some home decor talk!

A couple years ago I received one of the best Christmas gifts ever- a Scentsy!  For those of you who may not know what a scentsy is, you’ve probably seen one and just didn’t know the name- it’s an electric warmer that melts scented wax, like a flameless candle!  I’ve linked to their website in case you want to check it out.

Scentys are wonderful because they’re decorative yet unobtrusive, year round, and you can leave them on even when you’re not home!  I turn my Scentsy warmer on in the morning and leave it on throughout the day, that way my dorm room smells great as I’m going in and out.  Scentsys are perfect for college students because they’re actually allowed being that they’re flameless.

image2
This is a photo of my Scentsy warmer where I have it set up in a cubby of a shelving unit in my room.

The most fun part about Scentsys is changing the scents with the the seasons! I have found that 2 wax melts on the warming plate will throw good scent for about a week.  Scentsy offers their own brand of wax, but the Glade brand from the grocery store works just as well.  You can also purchase more affordable warmers from department stores, boutiques and even hardware stores.

Tip:  To change the wax in your warmer without a mess, turn your warmer off and remove the plate that sits atop the bulb.  Place in the freezer for about 15 minutes, or until the wax has frozen.  Hold the plate over the garbage can while wiggling/pushing the wax with your thumbs.  It should pop right out in one big chunk!

image1
These are 2 of the scents I have right now. The glade melts will be used throughout the spring and I’ll save the Scentsy “honey do” melts for summertime!
One thought on “The Scentsy

  1. I love scentsy. I have a super cute one with a bow and heart charm and I always use it to either get rid of the stale coffee smell from my room, or to give it a better atmosphere. I just hate how some yankee candle wax tarts are kinda one-use ones, like their halloween tarts. Otherwise, I super love them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

